My Escape to the Dominican Republic

When you live in Minnesota and your winter lasts pretty much half the year, a midwinter trip to paradise is almost a necessity! Escaping the dark frigid mid-January temps alone would have made this trip worth it; however, that wasn’t all that made this trip great.

My goal for this trip was to get my PADI Open Water Scuba Diving Certification. I took the online coursework before I left so I would get to go straight into diving when I arrived. Because who wants to sit in a classroom for a day when they are in paradise…definitely not me!

After learning all the skills in the pool it was time for fun, the part I had been waiting for, the open water dives. The Dominican has some great areas for diving and I got to visit 3 different dive sites during my time there. I saw a boat wreck, a 2 different areas of a coral reef! Unfortunately, I didn’t get any pictures from the boat wreck as it was my first dive and I wanted to focus on just diving, but here are some of my favorite photos from the experience.

img_0209
Ready for the first dive!
Had to Get a Scuba Selfie
Almost Didn’t See This Guy -Sanddiver #Camouflage
Smooth Trunkfish
Old Cannons
Some Cool Coral
Blue Tang
Cool statue but it was planted at the dive site

Post dive drinks with my instructor and fellow diver

While most of my time was spent underwater, I also spent time at the beach enjoying the sunshine and incredible 80-degree weather ☀️ with my friends that came with me.

Playa Blanca was probably my favorite beach to visit. A private/public beach with an entrance fee meant it was much less crowded. The entrance fee also was a credit to the restaurant on site so you basically end up with a free day at the beach if you eat a meal there. Smart marketing strategy!

All in all a wonderful vacation with some friends even though I ditched them most of the time for my dive lessons 😬

Leave a comment